## **KERRY A. BENNINGHOFF** 171st LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT

110 MAIN CAPITOL PO BOX 202171 HARRISBURG, PA 17120-2171 PHONE: (717) 783-1918 FAX: (717) 782-2913

- ☐ 140 W<sub>+</sub> HIGH STREET BELLEFONTE, PA 16823 PHONE: (814) 355-1300 FAX: (814) 355-3523
- ☐ 77 N. MAIN STREET PO BOX 592 REEDSVILLE, PA 17084 PHONE: (717) 667-1175 FAX: (717) 667-6025



## House of Representatives

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Harrisburg

July 31, 2020

Majority Leader

E-MAIL: kbenning@pahousegop.com WEB: kerrybenninghoff.com

Francis M. Majikes President, Board of Directors Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association 550 Gettysburg Road Mechanicsburg, PA 17055

Dear Mr. Majikes:

We write today to ask that you reverse or modify your decision to not allow spectators at Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association (PIAA)-sanctioned events during the fall athletic season.

As you know, interscholastic sports provide a unique opportunity for students to socialize, learn the importance of teamwork, and gain worldly experience outside of the classroom. In this regard, we are glad to see the PIAA pave the way for sports to open this fall.

However, without spectators—especially parents—able to watch their children and community members succeed on the field, something of the experience is lost. It should come as no surprise to you that parents in all of our districts are irate and disheartened by your recent policy decision that precludes them from watching their children in-person during the fall athletic period.

The parents of these students have supported their children and, often times, the school sports team in various ways during the student's journey and there is a deep satisfaction from the ability to watch their loved ones compete in something they value.

While we understand that you feel constrained by the Governor's orders in this regard, we wish to remind you that PIAA is an independent agency that has the ability to think outside the box to come up with a commonsense solution that can allow both sports to proceed as normal while, at a minimum, allowing parents of students to watch their loved ones in person.

At a time when folks have had the five-month long experience of social distancing and protecting themselves and others from a contagious virus, it makes no sense that people might be less safe sitting in the football stands or around the high school track at a soccer match, with appropriate modifications, than in the aisles of their local mega retailer.

It has been reported that the PIAA remains open to changing its current no spectator policy at its August 26, 2020 meeting.

We would hope that if no accommodation can be made for the public at large to attend PIAA events, that at least some modification be made for parents of students.

Sincerely, A Benning to

Kerry Benninghoff Majority Leader 171<sup>st</sup> Legislative District

Steph 2 Dany

Stephen Barrar 160<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Konney H. Brown

Rosemary Brown 189<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Eric Davanzo
58th Legislative District

Cloud Bento

Aaron Bernstine 10<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Mat. H. Causer

Martin Causer Majority Policy Chair 67<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Lay W. Kby

Gary Day 187<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Tunte A. Bonn

Timothy Bonner 8<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Bud Cook 49<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Torren Ecker 193<sup>rd</sup> Legislative District

Stephanie Borowicz 76<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Jim Cox 129<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Joe Emrick 137<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Le Tomich

RUGGE

Robert Brooks 54<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Thyrida Schifel author

Lynda Culver 108<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Mindy Fee
37<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Tonathan A Fritz

Jonathan Fritz 111<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Valin 5. Coyles

Valerie Gaydos 44<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Mark Gillen
128th Legislative District

Barbara Gleim

Barbara Gleim 199<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Jam of Frank

James Gregory 80<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Keith J. Dreiner

Keith Greiner 43<sup>rd</sup> Legislative District

Seth Grove 196<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Marcia M. Halm

Marcia Hahn 138<sup>th</sup> Legislative District Oge M. Heffley

Doyle Heffley 122<sup>nd</sup> Legislative District

Susan C. Halms

Susan Helm 104<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Tim Hennessey
26<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

David Hickernell 98th Legislative District

Rich dim

Rich Irvin 81<sup>st</sup> Legislative District

R. Le James

R. Lee James 64<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Mike Jones 93<sup>rd</sup> Legislative District

Rob Kauffman 89<sup>th</sup> Legislative District Mak & Siller

Mark Keller 86<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Kato A. Glunk

Kate Klunk 169<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Leny Krender

Jerry Knowles
124<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

(Tyan Mackeyii

Ryan Mackenzie 134<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Kurt Masser Majority Caucus Administrator 107<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Daryl Metcalfe 12<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Natalie Mihalek 40<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Lori a. Mizgorski

Lori Mizgorski 30<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Marci Mustelle Marci Mustello

Marci Mustello 11<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

In A Jelm

Eric Nelson 57<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Timothy O'Neal

Donna Operlander

48<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Donna Oberlander Majority Policy Chair 63<sup>rd</sup> Legislative District

Jason Ortitay

Jason Ortitay 46<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Clinton Owlett

68<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Tina Pickett 110<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Todd Polinchock 144<sup>th</sup> Legislative District 5Q5

Jack Rader 176<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

J.

James Rigby 71<sup>st</sup> Legislative District

Brad Roae

Brad Roae 6<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

WSA

Greg Rothman 87<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

David Rowe 85<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Francis X. Ryan

101<sup>st</sup> Legislative District

Tommy Sankey
73<sup>rd</sup> Legislative District

Paul Schemmel 90<sup>th</sup> Legislative District OI

Louis Schmitt, Jr. 79<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Craig Staats
145<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Omes Dayn Tr

James Struzzi II 62<sup>nd</sup> Legislative District

Kathleen Tomlinson 18<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Parch looked

Tarah Toohil 116<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Jeff Wheeland 83<sup>rd</sup> Legislative District

David Zimmerman 99<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

CC: Tom Wolf, Governor, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania